Possibly the best homework project ever

Last week I posted my experience of using research and debate to expand students’ ability to answer essay or exam questions (Killing the question, becoming more).  As a footnote to that post, I shared a homework project I did with my year 12 students based on an amazing powerpoint I found on the TES – http://www.tes.co.uk/teaching-resource/50-things-to-do-before-you-and-39-re-twenty-6180376/.

Together we created a list of 50 things to do before you turn 20.  Some are from the TES resource.  Some we added ourselves.  There was some negotiation involved as you can imagine, there were a number of suggestions that wouldn’t make appropriate homework tasks!

If you’ve read my previous post, you’ll know it was very popular and created a somewhat hilarious and competitive buzz around our sixth form.

Here is a copy of the original homework doc I gave my year 12s:  50 things to do before you turn 20

50 things

 

 

I have been thinking of ways I could use this lower down the school.  So over the summer, I have started to create a list for years 7, 8, 9 and 10.  The lists aren’t complete because I want students to add their own ideas.

I will upload them once I have a full set.

So watch this space.

2 thoughts on “Possibly the best homework project ever

  1. This is such an awesome idea! I am going to try it with my 8th graders next week. We are working on personal narrative ideas, this could give them some things to think about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

