Iceberg thinking

I first heard about iceberg thinking by the power of twitter.  From the comfort of my room in SE London, I was semi-following #TMNorthWest hosted by @CaldiesT&L (do follow them if you don’t already). The staff at Caldies shared their essay skills work on deep or iceberg thinking and it struck a chord with me.  The idea was to explicitly teach the process of deeper thinking, beginning with the obvious and then moving to the less obvious and more complex or sophisticated ideas.

iceberg thinking

Caldies essay structure is on TES resources here http://www.tes.co.uk/teaching-resource/Iceberg-Paragraphs-for-Deep-Analysis-6335441/

When I see an idea that I like, I become a bit obsessed.  Things tend to click with me and I can see myself using an idea in almost every lesson.  And this is exactly what happened, Caldies had articulated a process that I have been trying to put into words during the first couple of weeks of term.   My KS4 classes became iceberged out.  But their essay writing improved.  Finally they were coming up with ideas of their own, which were logical and showed that illusive ‘perceptivity’.

Over the last 10 days I have uploading my KS5 stretch and challenge cards (see here stretch and challenge and risk) that I am using with my year 12s as we study Henry James and now On Chesil Beach and Streetcar.   The iceberg essay structure doesn’t quite work, as it stands, for my year 12s.  So some tinkering is needed.  In the meantime, I wanted to use the idea of iceberg thinking to stretch their deeper analysis skills.  Below is my take at Caldies style iceberg thinking, broken down into deep analysis tasks.

iceberg q

Download the word document version here: Iceberg thinking.

There are only 16 tasks, partly because I have so many stretch and challenge tasks already and partly because I got to the point where my brain fried.  So, if you do use them, please let me know.  If you adapt or add more, please do let me know, so I can borrow your ideas too.

Leave a Reply

